Justice Janice Pereira is New Chief Justice of the ECSC
Honourable Janice Mesadis Pereira
Share |

Aug. 8 -- According to published reports, Her Ladyship Justice Janice Pereira has been appointed the first female acting Chief Justice of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court.

Her acting appointment will change to Chief Justice as soon as she receives her letters of appointment from Her Majesty the Queen.

Justice Pereria, who’s tenure is effective as of August 1, succeeds retiring Chief Justice Hugh Rawlins, a native of Nevis.

From the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court website, her bio reads as follows:

Honourable Janice Mesadis Pereira
President, Court of Appeal
Place of Birth : British Virgin Islands (BVI)

Professional Qualification

1975 – 1979 : University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, Barbados, LL.B [Honours]

1979 – 1981 : Norman Manley Law School, Kingston, Jamaica, Legal Education Certificate

1981 : Called to the Bar, BVI

2000 : Called to the Bar, St Kitts and Nevis


1981- 1984 : Registrar General [Ag]; Registrar [Ag], Supreme Court, BVI; Registrar of Companies, BVI

1981 – 1985: Additional Magistrate and acted as Magistrate, BVI

1984 – 1985: Registrar General; Registrar, Supreme Court; Registrar of Companies and International Business Companies, BVI

1985 – 1989 : Associate Attorney at Law, J S Archibald and Co, Road Town, Tortola, BVI

1989: Associate Attorney at Law, Harney, Westwood & Riegels, Tortola, BVI

1989 – 1990 : Attorney at Law, (Civil Litigation, Commercial and Banking), McW Todman & Co, Tortola, BVI

1991 – 2003 : Partner, Farara George-Creque & Kerrins (Formerly Farara & George-Creque) (Commercial – Litigation/Non Litigation, Conveyancing, Probate and Family, Corporate, Admiralty. Engaged in active practice at the Bar in the conduct of matters at all levels of the Courts [1985 – August 2003]), Tortola, BVI

2003 – 2008: High Court Judge, Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court

2009 - 2012: Court of Appeal Judge, Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court

2012: Chief Justice [Ag], Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court