2018 New Year’s honourees officially awarded for nation-building contributions

Seated left to right, PM Harris, Sir Tapley and Her Honour Morton. Back row, left to right, Hendrickson, Hobson, Francis and Jacobs

2018 New Year’s honourees officially awarded for nation-building contributions


BASSETERRE, St. Kitts – Four citizens of St. Kitts and Nevis were announced on New Year’s Day as being on Her Majesty the Queen Elizabeth II New Year’s Honours List by Prime Minister the Honourable Dr. Timothy Harris for their contribution to nation building, and today they were officially invested at Government House.

Inspector Alphonso Hendrickson was awarded the Queen’s Police Medal (QPM), Benjamin Francis and Dr. Ian Jacobs received the Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (MBE), and Patricia Anelta Hobson was awarded the Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (OBE). The medals were distributed by His Excellency Sir S. W. Tapley Seaton, governor-general.

Prime Minister Harris used the occasion to commend the awardees, adding that they are all “civically engaged citizens. Today’s investiture is a culmination of all of your years of devoted service, outstanding commitment and leadership. Today has also been made possible by your family’s encouragement and understanding. Your families have been the winds beneath your wings,” said Dr. Harris, while noting that family is important as they “inspire us to contribute to our communities so that we can create a lasting legacy which they and future generations can be proud.”

Reflecting on the theme for this year’s anniversary of independence, “Love, Service, Patriotism and Pride, Independence 35”, Harris noted that the honourees represent the esteemed principles expressed in the theme. “Through their diligence, leadership and hard work, the New Year’s awardees have achieved great success and respectability,” he said. “Importantly, too, they have bequeathed the gifts to their families and to their fellow citizens who admire and emulate them.”

Sir Tapley commended the awardees, noting that they are all well deserving of the honour. He especially recognized and placed on record his appreciation to Her Honour Marjorie Morton, deputy governor-general, for her presence. “She has always been prepared to lend her support to the activities here at Government House and generally, she is my representative in Nevis,” he said. “I wish to commend her for the excellent job that she has done over the period of her service and to wish her well in all of her future endeavour.” 

The OBE is bestowed upon an individual for playing a major role in any worthy activity; the MBE is bestowed upon an individual for hands-on service that has yielded significant community impact; and the QPM is bestowed to an officer of any rank for acts of courage and conspicuous devotion to duty.