Osmond Petty, permanent secretary in the Ministry of National Security, and members of the Community Policing Initiative pose with members of the St. Peter’s Explorers Club.
Osmond Petty, permanent secretary in the Ministry of National Security, and members of the Community Policing Initiative pose with members of the St. Peter’s Explorers Club.
Osmond Petty addressing the launch of St. Peter’s Explorers Club at Deane Glasford Primary School.
Constable Aidan Hendrickson addresses members of the St. Peter’s Explorers Club.
A cross-section of those who attended the launch, including members of the Police High Command.

Ministry of National Security launches St. Peter’s Explorers Club

From PLP PR Media Inc.

BASSETERRE, St. Kitts – With the launch of the fourth Explorers Club April 12, the Ministry of National Security’s National Crime Reduction and Prevention Strategy targeting young people in the federation seems to be reaping handsome dividends.

At a colourful and well-attended ceremony held at the Deane Glasford Primary School in St. Peter’s, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of National Security Osmond Petty oversaw the induction of 60 boys and girls into the newly formed St. Peter’s Explorers Club.

They join the meritorious ranks already established by the pioneering Mol-Phil Explorers Club formed in June last year, which now has a membership of 150; the Shadwell Explorers Club that has membership of 40 and was formed in December 2017; and the St. Paul’s Explorers Club formed last month, which has a membership of 55.

“Personally, I am very pleased with what has happened here this evening and I hope that this initiative can build out over time,” said Petty.

He announced that there will be a march on Saturday, May 12, that will be led by the Explorers of St. Kitts. It will start on Lockhart Street and march down Central Street, down Church Street, across Liverpool Row, up Fort Street, back to Central Street, and into Independence Square, where a parade will be held.

“The four Explorers Clubs will be joined by a few other groups in St. Kitts and a number of visitors from overseas who will be here for a meeting,” observed Petty.

At the end of the ceremony, he requested members of the Community Policing Initiative Team to stand with the St. Peter’s Explorers Club members, telling them “it is because of your hard work they are here. I want to thank you personally for your initiative and your help.”

Members of the Community Policing Initiative, led by Inspector Rosemarie Isles-Joseph, are Sgt. Ricardo Sampson, Sgt. Shorna Francis-Edwards, Sgt. Paula Jacobs, Sgt. Donna Henderson, Cpl. Hyacinth Taylor, Constable Lauston Percival, Constable Aidan Hendrickson, WC Niekisha Thomas, and Constable Mark Handley.

Hendrickson was given the honour to be the leader of the group, and in his response, he said: “I have to applaud the visionary work of Inspector Rosemarie Isles-Joseph, who has shown her commitment to make a difference in the lives of the young people, not only of St. Peter’s but throughout the Federation of St. Christopher and Nevis.”

He also gave commendations to the Police High Command and the Ministry of National Security, especially Police Commissioner Ian Queeley and Petty for their strong support in helping the police force to reach out to the young people in St. Kitts and Nevis.

“A special thanks also goes out to the parents and children of the St. Peter’s Explorers Youth Club because without your membership, there will be no Explorers Youth Club,” added Hendrickson.

Admitting that working with members of St. Peter’s Explorers will be a long journey, Hendrickson said he was confident that with hard work, discipline and commitment, St. Kitts and Nevis will the turn the tide of youth violence and make the country the land where peace abounds. 

The ceremony was attended by National Security Adviser retired Maj. Gen. Stewart Saunders; members of the Police High Command; Deputy Commissioner of Police Hilroy Brandy; assistant commissioners of police, Merclyn Hughes and Terrence James; Crime Reduction Specialist Dr. Neals Chitan; Inspector Rosemarie Isles-Joseph, founder and coordinator of the Explorers Club Movement; Valencia Syder, principal of the Deane-Glasford Primary School; and a contingent from the Mol-Phil Explorers Club. The invocation was performed by Pastor Ericson Cumberbatch, force chaplain.