Grove Park, Nevis was packed to capacity on Wednesday March 7 for the “Gulf Insurance Primary Schools Championship”.

The Nevis Amateur Athletic Association (NAAA), in collaboration with the Department of Education, staged the biggest event in Nevis in recent times with over five thousand spectators enjoying the display of athletic talent by athletes from kindergarden to Grade 6. Eight primary schools competed for the coveted Division “A” & Division “B” trophies, won by Charlestown Primary and Charleston Preparatory Schools respectively

The exciting event, held under the patronage of Ms. Sylvia Powell, a former outstanding sprinter of the Ivor Walter Primary School, saw an extraordinary colourful event starting from the cadet coordinated march past of the athletes, to the Lap of Victory by the Charlestown athletes and their supporters. The opening ceremony saw various dignitaries attending including Mr. Leon Williams, corporate secretary from Gulf Insurance’s head office in Trinidad along with the local representatives, Mr. Arthur Evelyn and Irma Johnson; Hon. Premier and Minister of Education, Mr. Joseph Parry; Mrs. Jennifer Hodge, Principal Education Officer, and others inspect the athletes in their sponsored athletic gears.

At the end of the exciting competition Charlestown Primary won the Division “A” trophy, amassing a total of 257 points with 27 gold, 12 silver and 8 bronze medals, while Charlestown Preparatory amassed a total of 85 points with 7 gold, 2 silver and 3 bronze medals winning the Division “B” Trophy, a 3-peat for both schools. Individual awards were presented immediately after each event with trophies presented at the end of the meet.

The medal count and point totals are as follows:


Charlestown (CPS)27     12                    8          47                   257

Gingerland (GPS)   10     17                    5         32                    170

St. Thomas’ (STT)  4      13                   17       34                    150

Ivor Walters (IWP) 1        5                      8        14                     88

Charlestown PREP 7        2                      3         12                    85

St. James (JAM)    5         4                     7         16                    76

St. John’s (JOHN) 0         1                      4         5                      33

Violet O. J. Nicholls  0       0                     2         2                      18


Last year’s joint Victrix Laudorum, Uniqueko Willett of the Charlestown Primary School, repeated as the most outstanding female athlete but was again a joint champion, this time with Tyra Lewis, also of Charlestown Primary School. The male outstanding athlete award is won by Donne Dyer of Charlestown Primary School, with all three champions on 20 points.

Six (6) records were broken and one (1) tied.

Renika Daniel CPS                 1:04:81

Tajarie Arthurton GPS                9.13

Donne Dyer CPS                    5:01.56

Uniqueko Willett CPS                29.94

Tyra Lewis CPS                         28.81

Robert Browne STTP              2:38.31

Ranciato Jeffers JAM                28.12 TIE

The class champions were as follows:


1     Martha Nisbett  CPS     12       Donne Dyer         CPS     12

Kelisha Roberts CPS     12

2     Renika Daniel    CPS     16      Ranciato Jeffers    JAM     17

Chloe Williams   PREP  16

3     Tyra Lewis       CPS     20       Saeed Williams      CPS     14

4     Uniqueko Willett  CPS  20     Rashiem Richardson CPS     12

Dawvin Challenger  GPS  12

5     Judene Tyson       PREP  18    Jovarnee Somersall    GPS    16

6    Tyssen O’Flaharty  STTP   12   Tajarie Arthurton      GPS    14

7    Keandre  Matthew CPS    12    Jalen Smithen            CPS     8

Events for the meet included the 60m, 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, 1500m and the exciting relays 4x100m and 4x400m. Competition was held in 54 events, featuring over 325 athletes in seven classes, from Kindergarten to Grade Six.

Athletes also competed for selection to the Leeward Islands Youth Championships to be held later this year for U-11/U-13/U-15 athletes. The meet will be carried live on VON and Choice FM radio stations and via the Internet with video, audio and text feeds. Details of the event are available at the Nevis Athletic Association website at

The Nevis Amateur Athletic Association, the Department of Education and the competing schools would like to thanks all agencies and individuals who contributed to the success of the meet. We also wish to thank the general public for their outstanding cooperation and support.

All participating schools were sponsored as follows:

SCHOOL                           SPONSORS

Charlestown Primary           Iris Foundation & “888” Long Distance

Gingerland                           T.D.C.

St. Thomas’s                        St. Kitts – Nevis National Bank

Ivor Walters                        Clear Harbour

Charlestown Preparatory     British American Insurance Co. Ltd.

St. James                            Oualie Beach Resort

St. John’s                               Lefco Equipment Rental Construction Co. Ltd

Violet O. J. Nicholls            Nisbett Plantation