The victorious Back Street team with their trophy and individual medals.

BASSETERRE, St. KITTS — After a successful campaign in a season where the weather was generally favourable to everyone, Back Street Cricket Club of Mansion found their calling and on Oct. 28 when they captured the 2018 ‘Boys on the Ground’ James Harris T20 Cricket League championship after beating Molineux in the finals.

The weather, however, played some tricks on everyone concerned when the prize-giving ceremony slated for Nov. 11 was cancelled due to rain. On Nov. 18, the Mansion Cricket Stadium got into a carnival mood when the Back Street team finally received their hard-won trophy, which they last held in 2014.

All the deserving players, officials, and diehard supporters received their gifts, awards, trophies, and medals. Ms Jannika Matthew assisted with the awards. Back Street collected the trophy of the season, which they will keep until next year. The second place team was Molineux.

Prizes and awards were given to the youngest player, Ronvyl Williams; youngest player, Ronald William Jr.; Most runs – national player, Jaheel Clarke; and Most wickets, Pastor Phillip Webbe. Gifts were awarded to Ms. Hillary Lawrence, champion diehard supporter of the league; Nigel Browne, scorer; and Ms. Vashney and Ms. Jaylesa Francis, bartenders.

“We had eight teams in the competition this year, with two new ones, HMP Ballers and Guyanese,” noted League Coordinator John Palmer. “They were put into two groups, ‘A’ and ‘B’. In Group ‘A’ we had the Front Street Limers, Christchurch, Molineux, and HMP Ballers. Group ‘B’ had Back Street, this year’s champions; Tabernacle, Lodge; and Guyanese.”

Palmer thanked the sponsors and league supporters, naming them as Prime Minister Dr. the Hon Timothy Harris, the Development Bank of St. Kitts and Nevis, Elco Ltd, Stone Deals, Ideal Business Services, Vince Matthew, Ms. Vennetta Clarke, and Brian Prentice.

For the first time, the St. Kitts Cricket Umpires Association provided umpires for all the matches after the association was contacted by Ricky Scarborough-Clarke, one of the James Harris League organisers.

“I must say thanks to the umpires from the Umpires Association,” Palmer said. “We had five females from the Umpires Association. I want to say thanks to Wycliffe Mitcham, association training officer and Luther Kelly, association president.”

According to Mitcham, five female umpires were used, He said the association is recruiting female umpires and it is trying to encourage them to participate. Mitcham and president of the association.

The umpires were: Elisa Claxton, Tynetta McKoy, Thelma Gumbs, and Sherline Malone from St. Kitts, and Josephine France from Nevis. According to Mitcham, the umpires did a very good job.

There was an exhibition 15-overs match between the new champions and upcoming Long Alley (LA) Cricket Club of Mansion. It ended with a 39-run win for Back Street. Palmer is hopeful that the youngsters (LA Cricket Club) will join the league next year. He also hopes Heights Cricket Club, which used to be part of the league, will make a comeback next year.

Past winners of the James Harris T20 Cricket League were Christchurch in 2008 and 2009; Back Street in 2010 and 2011; Tabernacle in 2012; Front Street Limers in 2013; Back Street in 2014; Molineux in 2015; and Christchurch in 2016. The league did not take place in 2017.