Molineux/Cayon reverses loss, captures T20 Tournament championship

2018 Development Bank Keeth Arthurton T20 Tournament champions, Molineux/Cayon with their trophy and cheque. Keeth Arthurton in standing 4th left front row, wearing black.
- Advertisement -

BASSETERRE, St. Kitts — It was sweet revenge on the Conaree Cricket Grounds Sunday Dec. 9 as Molineux/Cayon reversed a loss they had suffered at the hands of Newtown Cricket Club exactly seven days earlier, to take home the Development Bank Keeth Arthurton T20 Tournament trophy after beating them by 36 runs in the finals.

In the match that was umpired by Wycliffe Mitcham and Luther Kelly with Sherleen Maloney as the third umpire, Newtown United won the toss and elected to field. Molineux/Cayon made 140 runs for 5 in 20 overs. National player Jaeel Clarke made 55 runs not out, and Leon Clarke was also not out making 14 runs. In their bowling, Newtown’s Calvin Williams took two wickets while Jerrickson Louis and Kevin Hanley took one wicket each.

Newtown’s efforts of chasing the needed 141 runs to secure a win were gallantly thwarted as they could only make 104 for 8 in the twenty overs. Jerrickson Louis made 31 runs, Tyrese Jeffers and Tonito Willett each made 16 runs. Molineux/Cayon in their bowling, Miguel Smith and National Cricket Captain Jacques Taylor took two wickets each, Captain Larry Audain, Jerome Thomas, and Mrinal Wadhwa took one wicket each.

Molineux/Cayon took the 2018 Development Back Keeth Arthurton T20 Cricket Tournament championship trophy by 36 runs, and a cheque of EC$5,000. Man of the match was Jaleel Clarke who is the wicketkeeper on the St. Kitts National Cricket Team. An all-rounder, he made 55 for 31 balls and he assisted in taking four wickets, while as a wicketkeeper he stumped two and he caught two.

According to President of the St. Kitts Cricket Association Dennis Phillip, six teams took part in this year’s tournament, which is in its fourth year. The teams were Molineux/Cayon, Newtown United, Sandy Point, Young Guns, Lions, and Haynes Smith. Phillip pointed out that Newtown United have played in the finals for the fourth time and it is the fourth time Newtown has been in second place.

“The winners last year were Penniless All Stars from Nevis,” said the President. “Last year and the year before we would have had two teams from Nevis, Penniless All Stars and Empire, but they were not in the tournament this year based on time but they would be back in the tournament next year.”

Other match officials in the finals were head scorer/media liaison, Yvette Browne; scorers, Vanroy Agard (computer), Dominique Phipps (book), Jasmine Maynard (scoreboard); and Ricky Bharat (Facebook live streaming).

- Advertisement -