New Government Sworn In – Portfolio Assignments Revealed LK Hewlett Story Updated: February 23 rd 2015 at 10:10 am
A new slate of Federal Cabinet Ministers has taken the oath of office and their ministerial portfolios revealed to the people of Sr. Kitts and Nevis. Thousands of nationals gathered at Warner Park Cricket Stadium yesterday afternoon (Feb 22) to witness the swearing in of a Team Unity government. The seven Team Unity candidates elected on February 16, along with two appointed members will constitute the government benches in the next sitting of the National Assembly. Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Timothy Harris is responsible for Finance, National Security, Sustainable Development, Constituency Empowerment and People Empowerment. Hon. Shawn Richards was appointed Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Education, Youth, Sports and Culture. Hon. Eugene Hamilton is the new Minister of Lands, Agriculture, Cooperatives, Health, National Health Insurance, Human Settlement, Community Development, Gender Affairs and Social Affairs. Hon. Lindsay Grant is the Minister of Tourism, International Trade, Industry and Commerce. Hon. Ian Liburd is responsible for the Ministries of Public Infrastructure Post, Urban Development and Transport. Attorney General Hon. Vincent Byron was sworn in as the Minister of Justice, Legal Affairs and Communication. Hon Vance Amory, Premier of Nevis is the Senior Minister of Nevis Affairs, Labour, Social Security, Information and Ecclesiastical Affairs. Hon. Mark Brantley, Deputy Premier of Nevis is the federal Minister of Foreign Affairs and Aviation. Wendy Phipps, past Executive Director at St . Kitts -Nevis Chamber of Industry & Commerce, has been appointed Minister of State in the Ministries of Health, Community Development, Social Affairs and Gender Affairs. Hon. Michael Perkins was named Senator in the National Assembly. The citizenry is anxiously awaiting announcements regarding a new Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House, and possibly a new Governor General.