Special To The Observer

The St. Kitts Female National Volleyball team started its defence of OECS Volleyball Championship, at home, in the Marriott Event Centre, on Thursday.

The tournament is schedule to end on Sunday.

Five other teams will be hoping to wrest the title away from St. Kitts. The teams are Antigua and Barbuda, St. Lucia, Dominica, The British Virgin Islands and St. Maarten.

This is the first time that St. Kitts is hosting the prestigious tournament in almost ten years. Hosting the event also comes with the distinction that St. Kitts is one of only a few that has a facility to house the tournament indoors.

Indeed, it will be an historic tournament as this is the first ever indoor tournament in St. Kitts and Nevis and a new surface has been secured to add to the grandeur of the event, said president of the St. Kitts Amateur Volleyball Association (SKAVA) Mr. Glenn Quinlan. He expressed his profound gratitude to the St. Kitts Marriott Hotel for the making available of the Event Centre for matches and also to the Ministry of Sport, Culture and Tourism for their role in procuring the new surface.

Quinlan also expressed his thanks to Cable and Wireless and CONTEC for their partnership with the Association to make the event a reality.

Cable and Wireless donated EC$ 5000 while CONTEC contributed just over EC$ 4000.

President Quinlan indicated that he was quite pleased with the contributions from both members of the corporate community. Both companies have long standing relations with the SKAVA and their donations are testimony to their interest in the development of sport, especially volleyball.

The tournament will be played in two zones. Zone A comprises of St. Kitts, Antigua and Barbuda and St. Maarten, while Zone 2 boasts Dominica, the BRITISH virgin Islands and St. Lucia.

On Thursday Dominica came up against St. Lucia, and St. Kitts and Nevis clashed with St. Maarten. Both matches showcase bitter rivalries.

The St. Kitts and Nevis team is thirteen members strong. The players are Antoinette Henry, Deirdre Venner, Brenda Allen Edinborough, Phylis Elliott, Angela Samuel, Shanicia Dyer, Leondra Cotton, Nerecia Hobson, Glynis Wilkes, Kesha Liburd, Sheleen Matthew, Diana Palmer and Delisia Lescott-Lake