Basseterre, St. Kitts

In continuing its commitment to Eeducation in the Federation, the TDC Group of Companies recently introduced the Michael L. King Scholarship Grant at its thirty-fifth Annual General Meeting (AGM), which was held at the Fisherman’s Wharf.

Group chairman, Mr. D. Michael Morton, made the announcement at the grand event, which was attended by shareholders, corporate partners, business professionals, and a wide cross section of the company’s staff.

“I am pleased to announce that the board of directors has agreed to establish the Michael L. King Scholarship Grant. The scholarship, named in honour of the company’s second chairman is intended to assist students desirous of taking university level studies in the field of business and its related disciplines. These may include but are not limited to areas such as accounting, business management, economics, engineering, construction management, architecture, information technology, pharmacology, and agriculture,” said Morton.

Four (4) grants will be awarded annually in the amounts of five thousand dollars (US$5000) each to deserving applicants, who are not employees of the Group, two (2) students from St. Kitts and two (2) students from Nevis.

The programme will be administered by a Committee of five (5) persons, who will be charged with the responsibly of establishing the criteria for the awards, considering applications, and selecting awardees. Persons who have been accepted by an institution of higher learning or are already pursuing a course of study are eligible to apply for the grant.

This is the second scholarship scheme paying tribute to the man who helped to revolutionize Commerce in the Federation and further afield. The first being the Michael King Advanced Scholarship Fund established in 2002 for Company employees seeking Post-Secondary or Tertiary Education at the Certificate, Diploma, Bachelor, Master, and Doctorate levels. The academic programme is expected to be formally launched in the near future.

Mr. Michael King was one of the founding members of the TDC Group and held the post of Group Chairman from 1983 to 2001.